The 5 best NFL quarterbacks ever

The 5 Best Nfl Quarterbacks Ever

Here are the 5 best quarterbacks in history, all of whom have been ranked by efficiency and stats on .

1.Dan Marino.
He was the Miami Dolphins quarterback for seventeen seasons and broke almost every possible record. His accuracy and arm strength stood out over his entire career. However, even though the football scoreboards were on fire with Dan Marino’s phenomenal stats, he had to carry the burden of being known as one of the best quarterbacks who has never won the Super Bowl. Therefore Marino’s legacy and rank among all quarterbacks will be questioned due to this lack of post-season success. However, his stats do prove that he is the best quarterback who has ever graced the game.

2. Joe Montana
In the 1980s Joe Montana was a household name, since he brought four Super Bowl titles to the San Francisco 49ers. He was known for his legendary post-season performances and for being a great NFL clutch quarterback. In 23 playoff appearances, Joe Montana led his teams to 16 wins. He threw for a total of about 40,000 yards, completed successfully 3,408 of 5,394 pass attempts, threw 140 interceptions and 273 touchdown passes, and played a total of 191 NFL regular season games. Joe Montana appeared in the Pro Bowl eight times, and in 1989 and 1990 won the MVP award.

3.John Elway
Yes, it’s true: the three best NFL quarterbacks of all time are all from the 1980s. John Elway was with the Denver Broncos for 16 NFL seasons. He led the team in a five-minute game-winning drive. In 15 plays it consisted of 98 yards. Because of Elway the Broncos appeared in the Super Bowl five times, and won two of those times. He threw for a total of over 50,000 yards, completed successfully 4,125 of 7,251 pass attempts, threw 225 interceptions and nearly 300 touchdown passes, and played a total of 233 NFL regular season games. John Elway made nine appearances in the Pro Bowl, and in 1987 won the MVP award.

4. Johnny Unitas
Johnny Unitas had 17 seasons with the Baltimore Colts, and one season to finish his career with the San Diego Chargers. He led the Baltimore Colts to one Super Bowl win and three NFL championships. When Unitas retired in 1973, he had record stats for total yards, most touchdown passes, and most pass completions. He threw for a total of about 40,000 yards, completed successfully 2,840 of 5,189 pass attempts, threw 254 interceptions and 291 touchdown passes, and played a total of 212 NFL regular season games. Johnny Unitas has made ten appearances in the Pro Bowl, and won the MVP award four times in 1957, 1959, 1964, and in 1967.

5. Fran Tarkenton:
From 1967 to 1971 Fran Tarkenton played for the New York Giants, but ended up returning to his original team, the Vikings, in 1972 where he stayed until his retirement in 1978. Like Dan Marino, Fran Tarkenton never won the Super Bowl, which may make his place in NFL history somewhat questionable. Still, he threw for a total of about 47,000 yards, completed successfully 3,688 of 6,468 pass attempts, threw 265 interceptions and 341 touchdown passes, and played a total of 245 NFL regular season games. Tarkenton made nine appearances in Pro Bowl games, and in 1975 won the MVP award.

For more information, go to:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *